empath x-ferance


Archived topics from the different rule forums.

Moderator: Admin

User avatar

Town Member
Town Member

Posts: 3094

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 3:42 pm

Post Tue Feb 26, 2008 1:56 pm

empath x-ferance

Brett posed this question.

It says the empath can x-fer to ANOTHER target. was that deliberate or an overlook?

Another means the empath can not heal themselves. I suspect this to be on purpose, but want to check.
Travis Cole
User avatar

GM

Posts: 7553

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 1:43 pm

Post Tue Feb 26, 2008 2:05 pm

It is on purpose.
Chris
I be one of the gamemasters so e-mail me questions if you have them
User avatar

Town Member
Town Member

Posts: 1004

Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 6:25 am

Post Tue Feb 26, 2008 2:53 pm

The way I read it, a target is anybody including themsleves. I have played it that way for years. I have put people to sleep and drained their life with that skill to heal myself.

It really does not matter becasue you can only drain life from an unconious person or a willing person.
User avatar

Town Member
Town Member

Posts: 2369

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 9:32 am

Location: Michigan

Post Tue Feb 26, 2008 3:04 pm

Well, Nelkie you were wrong! For Shame! :)

I read it as they couldn't heal themselves. They are only a conduit like a jumper cable. Nothing really leaves a battery until you hook to something else.
My posts in no way reflect that of anyone else nor are they in any way official.
User avatar

Town Member
Town Member

Posts: 3094

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 3:42 pm

Post Tue Feb 26, 2008 3:14 pm

it says ANOTHER. not any.
Travis Cole
User avatar

Town Member
Town Member

Posts: 1004

Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 6:25 am

Post Tue Feb 26, 2008 3:28 pm

Shame on me, well, I gues I need to kill off my empath, ohh, wait, he already dead :D
User avatar

Town Member
Town Member

Posts: 2369

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 9:32 am

Location: Michigan

Post Tue Feb 26, 2008 3:32 pm

And good riddence. :P
My posts in no way reflect that of anyone else nor are they in any way official.
User avatar

Town Member
Town Member

Posts: 1004

Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 6:25 am

Post Tue Feb 26, 2008 3:35 pm

Here is the rule:
Empaths can drain 2 life from a target, even themselves, and give another target one life point in return, up to the character’s maximum life total. This ability takes a 20 count to activate and the Empath must be touching both targets.

I viewed it as target could be self, and that you did not need to be touching 2 targets becasue you can drain from yourself so you would only need yourself and another target. And it never dawned on me that you could not heal your self with the skill's wording, and trust me, I rarely used the skill to heal my self. It is hard to find unconious bodies to drain life from.
User avatar

Town Member
Town Member

Posts: 3094

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 3:42 pm

Post Tue Feb 26, 2008 3:37 pm

That's what magic sleep is for. heheheh
Travis Cole
User avatar

Town Member
Town Member

Posts: 1004

Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 6:25 am

Post Tue Feb 26, 2008 3:43 pm

Easier said than done. The 30sec and not moving is hard to do in battle. I tried man times to do that, but with out a good shield wall, it is almost impossible.
User avatar

Town Member
Town Member

Posts: 3094

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 3:42 pm

Post Tue Feb 26, 2008 3:46 pm

you underestimate the sneaky.

But I do see your point.
Travis Cole

Return to Rule Forum Archives

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests

cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Designed by ST Software for PTF.