GM_Chris wrote:Arcanes are highly distructive, but I tell you want, wait until after this event when I utuize a bunch of Elven arcanes and when i am done you tell me your oppinion
I'm not saying GMs don't play fair, but how an NPC (army at that) performs has no basis for me being impressed about a discipline or path, even less so arcanes, because you can throw as many magic components as you want at spells against the PCs, have as many arcanes as you want as well as whatever spells you want, even if they don't exist. Wiping out the PCs with NPCs does NOT impress me. Ever. Let me repeat that: EVER.
GM_Chris wrote: Well armor restriction was in there and was missed so everyone who knows it is a mistake should not take advantage of that mistake.
When, at CARPs? I have a copy of the 2005 rulebook, I'm looking at Arcane right now and it doesn't have any armor restrictions, so it's been a LOOOOOOONG time since that's been in the rulebook. It's a sad state of affairs to accuse people of cheating on a rule that doesn't exist and isn't common knowledge (Even if you seem to think it is). It hasn't been in a book for at least three years. We have a lot of players who have been playing for a shorter period of time than I am and it wasn't in the rulebook when I started.
It's statements like these that make me CRAZY, Chris and you just keep running with it and throwing out all kinds of insane statements:
GM_Chris wrote: And since such person would then be labled as such in my mind I assure such people that any and all research that comes in from him/her woud be much delayed as I go through it with a fine tooth comb to ensure that you are not attempting to cheese something out of the rules that I am missing.
Such people could also expect any during event ruling would probably become out again your neutralagainst your character since I would think such people were yet again attempting to be cheesy
If you can look at that again and tell me you think that is a reasonable statement, considering the fact that NO PC HAS DONE ANYTHING WRONG and even if a PC had done this, it's NOT a rule IN THE BOOK. IT is NOT common knowledge that Arcanes can't cast in heavy armor, oversight or not it's at least a THREE YEAR OVERSIGHT and to start saying you are going to use your godlike GM powers to make the game hell for everyone who doesn't know something that isn't common knowledge (You only believe it is based on your perception) and isn't in the book based on a mistake the PCs have NO CONTROL over really burns me up. Not everyone reads the boards (Or should have to, to play), and even if they had, this is the FIRST TIME someone has said it was an oversight. The only person who replied to my same question thread last year was Wayne and he said it was probably based per spell, so this isn't the first time it's come up. Hell, I'm sure I wasn't even the first to ask.
I will probably regret the way I worded this post later, I would have liked to be more diplomatic but at this point I am steamed. Thanks.