Winterhaven and Support


Archived topics from the different rule forums.

Moderator: Admin

User avatar

Town Member
Town Member

Posts: 391

Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 5:30 pm

Location: Final Haven

Post Thu Oct 12, 2006 6:53 am

Winterhaven and Support

I was wondering about this.. if I bring Ian to Winterhaven for their last event of the year, but do not support anyone at WH, will my support from the last FH event carry over to the next FH event..

Since in the rules only an RPO can support across Chapters, I was curious how it would work for characters jumping back and forth?
Your Knowledge cannot save you,
Your Magic cannot save you,
Nothing can save you!
User avatar

Town Member
Town Member

Posts: 3094

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 3:42 pm

Post Thu Oct 12, 2006 7:05 am

support

Support in WH is seperate from support in FH. Basically you get to double dip your support points.

The group you join in WH is seperate mechanically from the group you join in FH. So yes, if you have ian support no one at WH, your support for FH is still carried over.
Travis Cole
User avatar

GM

Posts: 4122

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 3:49 pm

Location: Wouldn't you like to know

Post Thu Oct 12, 2006 8:29 am

I dont understand what you mean by "Carried over"? As far as politics and economics go, WH is 100% seperate from FH unless you are an RPO.
Wayne O
The Game Master Lite
Frag the weak, Hurdle the dead!

GM

Posts: 4491

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 11:14 pm

Post Thu Oct 12, 2006 9:00 am

In other words, you can be in a guild at FH and another at WH and use the same support in each.
User avatar

Town Member
Town Member

Posts: 3094

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 3:42 pm

Post Thu Oct 12, 2006 9:08 am

I think he means that if he supports someone at FH, then goes to WH and doesn't support someone, come the next event at FH is he still supporting the FH person. The answer is YES.
Travis Cole

GM

Posts: 4491

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 11:14 pm

Post Thu Oct 12, 2006 9:15 am

Yep I know, and we were just clarifying for anyone who has this question that no matter what you do politically at WH (support or not support), this does not impact what you did at FH politically.
User avatar

New in Town
New in Town

Posts: 15

Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 10:35 pm

Post Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:45 pm

support

But can a spy in FH track your character's support usage for a WH event?
User avatar

Town Member
Town Member

Posts: 103

Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 4:34 pm

Location: six underground

Post Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:49 pm

i would say no, being that they are completely seperate games.

doing that would enter the realm of "you have to attend both games in order to understand what's going on" and i don't feel that is necessary or desirable.

GM

Posts: 4491

Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2003 11:14 pm

Post Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:51 pm

Are you asking can a spy in FH who does not play WH track a WH support expenditure or can a spy who plays both do this? The latter would be definitly yes and the former I'm thinking no.
User avatar

Town Member
Town Member

Posts: 103

Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2003 4:34 pm

Location: six underground

Post Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:53 pm

travis, how can a spy in final haven track the support of someone however far away when he has little to no contact with them and doesn't have full knowledge of the specific guilds and organizations in place where that character resides?

i don't know, i just really don't agree with it.
User avatar

GM

Posts: 7553

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 1:43 pm

Post Thu Oct 12, 2006 2:11 pm

The use of the spy's ability is an in between event action that can only be used against the people who are at the event in which you play your spy. :)
Chris
I be one of the gamemasters so e-mail me questions if you have them
User avatar

Town Member
Town Member

Posts: 3094

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 3:42 pm

Post Thu Oct 12, 2006 2:18 pm

Chris,

Does that mean the following?


John is a spy. He plays FH with Rick. Rick goes to WH. Can John track his support points because he was at the event? I should think not. You have to list your spy info on the checkout sheet.

I'm pro all or nothing, and I don't care which. You can either cross boundries all the time, or never.

All the time would be easiest, requiring less paperwork. But more internal data.

Never makes more sense, IE you have to play the spy at WH and fill out the paper work there.
Travis Cole
User avatar

GM

Posts: 7553

Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2003 1:43 pm

Post Thu Oct 12, 2006 2:22 pm

You missunderstand

The spy action tracks the points spent at the event that was just attended.

John puts in his checkout he is tracking Rick.

Then we at FH look at Rick's checkout form and see how Rick voted.

We do NOT call up Matt and say "Hey can you tell me how Rick votes in your next, yet to occur event"

This is not complicated :)
Chris
I be one of the gamemasters so e-mail me questions if you have them
User avatar

Town Member
Town Member

Posts: 3094

Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 3:42 pm

Post Thu Oct 12, 2006 2:48 pm

Ahh. That makes sense.

You investigate was what just spent. And therefore, you can not do it crossways because you can only investigate what was just spent. I got it.
Travis Cole
User avatar

Town Member
Town Member

Posts: 391

Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 5:30 pm

Location: Final Haven

Post Thu Oct 12, 2006 4:09 pm

Thank you for clearing that up, I was just curious how it was going to work. And it would certainly only make sense for skills like Spy to work only if you attend the event you are using it in..

Also we were wondering are the FH Character stuff (Envelopes) going to be at WH, if you decide to play a FH character?
Your Knowledge cannot save you,
Your Magic cannot save you,
Nothing can save you!
Next

Return to Rule Forum Archives

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Designed by ST Software for PTF.